New Music Friday: OutKast’s Andre 3000 Returns With Solo Album, ‘New Blue Sun’ & More

New Music Friday: OutKast’s Andre 3000 Returns With Solo Album, ‘New Blue Sun’ & More

After a long wait, music fans have been treated to an exciting week of new releases. Andre 3000 finally drops his debut solo album, New Blue Sun, Drake released an extended version of his latest album called Scary Hours 3, Lil Wayne and 2 Chainz blessed fans with a new joint project, and more.

3 Stacks Is Back!

Andre 3000, one-half of the iconic duo OutKast, has surprised fans with his debut solo album, New Blue Sun

This album marks his first solo project after a remarkable 17-year break from releasing music. However, instead of showcasing his rap skills, the Atlanta rap legend focuses on his musical versatility by playing the flute and other wind instruments throughout the album.

Drake Isn’t Done Yet

Drizzy dropped a surprise extended version of his latest album, For All The Dogs, titled For All The Dogs Scary Hours Edition. The extended version features six brand new songs by the rap superstar, including the track “Evil Ways” featuring fellow rap superstar J. Cole

Lil Wayne x  2 Chainz

Lil Wayne and 2 Chainz have reunited to deliver their joint album, Welcome To Collegrove 2

This highly anticipated sequel to their 2016 project, Collegrove, consists of 21 tracks and boasts an impressive lineup of featured artists, including 21 Savage, Rick Ross, Usher, Fabolous,  and Marsha Ambrosius.

Tory Lanez Makes Waves From Behind Bars

Tory Lanez dropped the deluxe version of his 1980s-inspired album, Alone At Prom, which originally came out in 2021. The deluxe version contains 10 songs and also has a feature from Trippie Redd

Lil Durk & OTF: ‘Nightmares In The Trenches’

Chicago rapper Lil Durk and his label, Only The Family(OTF) dropped their joint mixtape Nightmares In The Trenches. The mixtape contains 11 songs and it will have features by Rob49, Icewear Vezzo, YTB Fatt, and others. 

Busta Rhymes Drops ‘Blockbusta’ Tracklist

New York rap legend Busta Rhymes has shared his tracklist for his upcoming album, Blockbusta.

The album contains 19 tracks and has a star-studded featured artists list of Burna Boy, Coi Leray, BIA, Chris Brown, Shenseea, Kodak Black, and others. Blockbusta is set to release on November 24.

E-40’s Rule of Thumb: Rule 1

Bay Area rap legend E-40 dropped his 26th studio album titled Rule of Thumb: Rule 1. The album contains 23 songs and has features from artists such as Larry June, Too $hort, Gucci MAne, NBA Youngboy and others.

Danny Brown Drops A New Project

Detroit rapper Danny Brown dropped his sixth studio album titled Quaranta. The album contains 11 songs and features production from The Alchemist. This is the second project of 2023 for Brown who worked with rapper JPEGMAFIA on their joint album, Scaring the Hoes.

42 Dugg Releases ‘Spindatbac’

Detroit rapper 42 Dugg released his single “Spindatbac” which is the first single he has released since his release from prison in October 2023. In a preview on his Twitter (X) account, he was in the studio with rappers J. Cole and Westside Gunn. 

Key Glock’s ‘Monaco Freestyle’

On Nov. 11, Memphis rapper Key Glock released his single “Monaco Freestyle,” after previously teasing the song on his social media. The song cover is a drawing of Key Glock walking a goat.

Jay Rock Is ‘Still That Way’ Feat. Bongo ByTheWay

Los Angeles rapper Jay Rock released the song and video for his new single “Still That Way,” featuring Bongo ByTheWay. The video included Jay Rock and friends riding through a desert in various cars and rapping on a makeshift set of his Los Angeles neighborhood, Watts. 

Paul Wall x That Mexican OT

Houston rap legend Paul Wall is back with another single release ahead of his upcoming album via Oiler Mobb/ONErpm. “Covered In Ice” features fellow Texan rapper, That Mexican OT. 

Big Scarr’s Posthumous Music Video

Big Scarr‘s music video for “Fantastic” was released on November 16. The video was the last one that he shot, the late Memphis rapper died on December 22, 2022, from an accidental drug overdose.  

October London Shares ‘The Greatest Gift’

Rising R&B sensation October London has released his Christmas album, The Greatest Gift. The album was released via Death Row Records/gamma. Channeling the romantic side of Christmas, October London’s smooth and sultry vocals shine throughout the 10-track album. 

Yung Esckimo Drops ‘Blue Magic’

New York City rapper Yung Esckimo released his new single “Blue Magic,” the title track for his forthcoming EP Blue Magic, which is set to arrive this fall via SCAM Inc. The track follows the project’s lead single “The Code.”

SOHH Fam, check out these new projects from your favorite artists, and have a great weekend!

Back to top