Jason Isbell Announces Tenth Anniversary Reissue of 2013’s ‘Southeastern’

Jason Isbell Announces Tenth Anniversary Reissue of 2013’s ‘Southeastern’

Jason Isbell Announces Tenth Anniversary Reissue of 2013’s ‘Southeastern’

Alex H. Krinsky on August 8, 2023

Today, Grammy Award-winning musician Jason Isbell unveiled plans for a 10-anniversary reissue of his critically acclaimed album, Southeastern. The now iconic musical offering is set to resurface on Sept. 29, marking just over a decade since its initial release on June 11, 2013.

The reimagined and reamplified Southeastern, slated for release through Southeastern Records/Thirty Tigers, promises an enchanting blend of nostalgia and innovation. The remastered version of the album–which introduced Isbell’s artistry to a global audience–will be adorned with a selection of demos and live renditions.

The album is a transcendent work that boasts 12 captivating tracks. Infused with confessions, reflections, and promises, the LP serves as a poignant testament that bridges generations. Isbell’s lyrical prowess offers a unique communion between the present and the past that easily endured the past decade and, since its initial release, garnered accolades from both devoted fans and critics.

The 10-anniversary reissue will arrive as a commemorative package: a Deluxe 4LP Box Set will be available, showcasing never-before-heard original Southeastern demos offering an intimate glimpse into the creative process that led to its inception. The aforementioned live recordings took place during a performance at Knoxville, Tenn.’s Bijou Theatre in December 2022. Additionally, an Indie Exclusive LP, pressed on transparent clearwater blue vinyl will be available.

Read Relix‘s cover story with Jason Isbell here.

Pre-order Southeastern 10th Anniversary Edition here.

Southeastern (Remastered) Track Listing

  1. “Cover Me Up” 
  2. “Stockholm”
  3. “Traveling Alone”
  4. “Elephant”
  5. “Flying Over Water”
  6. “Different Days”
  7. “Live Oak”
  8. “Songs That She Sang in the Shower”
  9. “New South Wales”
  10. “Super 8”
  11. “Yvette”
  12. “Relatively Easy”

Back to top