NEWS: Broken Records return with new single ahead of fifth album

NEWS: Broken Records return with new single ahead of fifth album

Edinburgh’s Broken Records have unveiled their new single ‘You Won’t Be There.’ It’s the first track to be unveiled from their forthcoming fifth album, which is due out towards the end of 2023 on the band’s on J Sharp Records.

Speaking about the single, lead singer Jamie Sutherland explained that it’s ‘a song about the first flushes of friends dying after a bad couple of years…if someone dies young, is the memory as vivid when you get older? Do the same people importance in moving on? Will you really remember them and the sadness that comes with it?

The as -yet untitled fifth album is described as being a quiet, late- night record, very much influenced by REM, in particular the Out Of Time, Automatic For The People and New Adventures In Hi-Fi albums.

Broken Records were formed in Edinburgh in 2006 by Sutherland, his brother Rory (Organ, Piano, Synths, Loops and Violin) and Ian Turnbull (Guitar, Organ, Piano). The current line-up also includes Clarissa Cheong (bass), Andrew Keeney (drums and percussion) and Craig Ross (guitar).

The lyric video for ‘You Won’t Be There‘ may be streamed below:

[embedded content]

Additionally, the band will play their first gig in five years at St. Vincent Chapel in Edinburgh this Saturday (April 22), as part of a Free Record Store Day gig.

img 2 1681772641291
Back to top