Watch Now: Portugal. The Man Share Music Video for “Dummy,” Outline New LP

Watch Now: Portugal. The Man Share Music Video for “Dummy,” Outline New LP

Multi-platinum, Grammy-award winning rockers, Portugal. The Man, have delivered a new single and music video for “Dummy,” the first track from their long-awaited studio album, Chris Black Changed My Life, due on June 23 via Atlantic Records. 

“Dummy” was produced by Asa Taccone and marks the first preview off the musicians’ impending release. Chris Black Changed My Life, follows the band’s last full-length drop, 2017’s Woodstock. In addition to the freshly shared “Dummy” single, the group had previously teased the LP’s opening track, “Heavy Games II,” featuring Jeff Bhasker. 

The new album was written in dedication to the band’s late friend, director, producer and live show hype man, Chris Black. Via press release, they offered background on the album’s namesake, “His passing really messed with us. The band was in shambles and this record is the first time I feel I made a complete record; a complete thought about our world crumbling around us and the journey back.”

The Portland, Ore.-based unit have also introduced its newest honorary member, Tank Dog, created by Wes Hubbard and John Gourley. The invented pink character appears in the band’s music video for “Dummy” and leads viewers on a visual journey back to their native Alaska. 

Gourley also offered a statement on the new project and their single release. The bandleader prompted, “Worried about the impending nuclear war? ‘Dummy’ is an ode to The Cure. For all those hopeless doomers out there waxing poetic on the end times while dancing to ‘Boys Don’t Cry.’ All my troubles seem so far away. Thank you for waiting.” 

After the release of their forthcoming album, this spring, Portugal. The Man will support Chris Black Changed My Life on the road. Following an appearance at Bonnaroo, they’ll return to their hometown for a one-night stand on July 20, prior to a performance at the fabled Red Rock Amphitheatre venue in Morrison, Colo., on July 23.

In continuation of their supportive jaunt, the group will cross the country for a July 27 gig at Radio City Music Hall in New York City. Then, their final show will occur on August 6, when Portugal. The Man works through their favored repertoire of music at Los Angeles’ famed Hollywood Bowl.

Scroll down to view the tracking list for the impending studio release. For tickets to the band’s live shows, visit their official website

Stream “Dummy” now. Watch the music video below. 

[embedded content]

Upcoming Live Shows: 

6/16 – Manchester, TN @ Bonnaroo

7/20 – Portland, OR @ Edgefield

7/23 – Morrison, CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheatre

7/27 – New York, NY @ Radio City Music Hall

8/6 – Los Angeles, CA @ Hollywood Bowl

Chris Black Changed My Life Tracking List: 

  1. Heavy Games II (feat Jeff Bhasker)
  2. Grim Generation
  3. Thunderdome [W.T.A]
  4. Dummy
  5. Summer of Luv
  6. Ghost Town
  7. Time’s a Fantasy 
  8. Doubt
  9. Plastic Island
  10. Champ 
  11. Anxiety:Clarity
Back to top