Paul Simon Announces 'In the Blue Light' LP

Paul Simon Announces 'In the Blue Light' LP
Though Paul Simon is currently out on a farewell tour, the music legend isn't ready to call it a day quite yet, announcing plans for a 14th studio album.

Titled In the Blue Light, Simon's 10-track effort will arrive September 7 through Legacy Recordings. 

The effort finds Simon recording new renditions songs from across his catalogue, joined by a cast acclaimed musicians that includes trumpeter Wynton Marsalis, guitarist Bill Frisell, and drummers Jack DeJohnette and Steve Gadd.

"This album consists songs that I thought were almost right, or were odd enough to be overlooked the first time around," Simon said in a statement. "Redoing arrangements, harmonic structures, and lyrics that didn't make their meaning clear, gave me time to clarify in my own head what I wanted to say, or realize what I was thinking and make it more easily understood."

Simon continued: "It's an unusual occurrence for an artist to have the opportunity to revisit earlier works and rethink them — to modify, even completely change parts the originals. I hope the listener will find these new versions old songs refreshed, like a new coat paint on the walls an old family home."

You can find the 10-song tracklist for In the Blue Light below, along with a short video feature on the release.

Simon will play the final date his farewell tour on September 22 in New York's Flushing Meadows Corona Park.

In the Blue Light:

1. One Man's Ceiling Is Another Man's Floor
2. Love
3. Can't Run But
4. How the Heart Approaches What It Yearns
5. Pigs, Sheep and Wolves
6. René and Georgette Magritte With Their Dog After the War
7. The Teacher
8. Darling Lorraine
9. Some Folks' Lives Roll Easy
10. Question for the Angels